Jonathan Begley

July 16, 2010

GOODBYE, MY FRIEND?

Filed under: Other,Uncategorized — jonathanbegley @ 2:50 pm

Dear Writer’s Block…it’s not you…it’s me.  It’s been great, really, it mean it.  Twenty years of wanting to be a writer, how pathetic.  It’s time that I realized what you have been trying to tell me this whole time- I’m better off spending every ounce of free time staring at the television watching others live the life that I dream of.  Dreams are good enough for me. 

This “eight to five” job of mine is plenty exciting.  Who needs art and culture, adventure and danger, love and laughter?  Here, I have the World Wide Web.  I have the whole world at my fingertips.  I have an hour of commuting, everyday, that I can use to think and dream.  I have structure, predictability, safety; the only pain I fear is carpel tunnel. 

Who needs an imagination?  Why write these dreams down when I have them perfectly safe, inside of my head?  Why experience reality, a reality that could hurt?  Why keep records of feelings and thoughts and experiences that will expose my true being to the world?  Do I really think I am ready for that?  Who was I kidding anyways?  

Thank you, Writer’s Block.  I won’t forget all you’ve done for me.  I won’t forget all I’ve done with you by my side.  Remember that time…that time that I…I knew you would remember.  Why don’t I remember?  Oh, because you’re protecting me.  Thank you.  

Nevertheless, we must part ways.  There are many others coming along the road less traveled that need your guidance and protection.  I am holding you back.  I realize what I am and who I am afraid to be, so you don’t need to worry about me any longer.  You know exactly where I will be…right here, not experiencing life.  I won’t know what I believe or what I want because I know that if I take a stance, I may hurt someone, or someone may hurt me.  

Goodbye, Writer’s Block.  Go reach the world with your wisdom.  Change lives.  Don’t look back.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

